Show Me Costa Rica Vacation Memories!

Peering out my kitchen window I can read my sign “Pura Vida”…… and it takes me back on vacation! (if only for a moment)

Watch the video version of this blog at http://youtu.be/k9FuXyTyiTE below!

 

As back to school approaches I am still enjoying the family vacation to Costa Rica through my pictures and travel souvenirs!

Will and Rebecca having fun!

As many tourist do, we got caught up in shopping! We enjoyed the local hangouts and loved all the tropical vibes of Costa Rica! One shop “the Costa Rica Coffee Experience” in Jaco had wonderful customer service! We bought coffee, vanilla, cinnamon, tea, t-shirts, a colorful butterfly and a scarf! The staff was so gracious and generous with coffee samples and information on all the spices, native plants and gifts of Costa Rica.

Shopping "the Costa Rica Coffee Experience" Jaco, Costa Rica

After returning to reality and dry West Texas, I was unpacking all my goodies, the thought crossed my mind to create a wall decor for my back patio that we could all enjoy and remember our fabulous trip and the lush tropical greeeeeeeeeeen!!!! (ok we are in a drought so this is a big deal even if the leaves are permanent botanical, they are green and look real!)

Tropical palm tree by pool in La Fortuna, Costa Rica

I hope  you enjoy and as always our goal is to create to inspire, to educate so you will decorate!

View of vacation decor from my kitchen

Lets Get Started!

Gather all materials: Tropical leaves purchased on sale at Hobby Lobby, travel souvenirs, green florist wire, green pipe cleaners and green florist tape. My inspiration came from all the lush green landscapes we saw, colorful flowers and butterflies and the Costa Rica motto “Pura Vida,” Pure Life!

1. Gather materials: Tropical greenery and vine base

2. Collect Vacation trinkets from travels

3. Freeform vine for base, (grapevine wreath could also be used)

I like to work with my base on an easel , the freeform vine allowed me to have a structure to wire everything to. It also looks like the vines we saw hanging everywhere.

4. Big leaf, feather leaf and vine wired together

5. Camoflauge mechanics with green florist tape

6. Using a green pipe cleaner blends into greenery twisted to hold loop together

7. Greenery stems are bent and twisted to form a loop

8. The freeform vine and tropical greenery wired together

9. A green pipe cleaner attach to screw eye on back of butterfly

The souvenirs I purchased came with hooks, however picture hanging materials can be added when needed.

10. Focal point wired on, butterfly and "Pura Vida" sign tops it off!

At this point a bow could be added, and if you need to know how to tie one, we show you how on the app!

http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/show-me-decorating/id386099720?mt=8

However I purchased a colorful scarf and decided to use it running thru my design and secured with a wire (no glue allows me to wear it at a later date!)

11. Scarf run through, ready to hang and enjoy!

Notice how the greenery looks just like the greenery from the tropical palm tree! Amazing!

So enjoy your vacation or trip a little longer by assembling a decorative wreath or swag to hang and make use of all your favorite travel souvenirs!

As always……..

Create, Inspire, Educate you to Decorate!

Happy decorating Y’all!

Becky McCraney

Back to school is next…………….

4 thoughts on “Show Me Costa Rica Vacation Memories!

Let us know what you think!!

